You are currently viewing ‘Good onya’ recipients honoured
Twelve awards were given to individuals and groups to thank them for their contributions. Photos: KELLEY TANTAU

‘Good onya’ recipients honoured

Twelve awards were bestowed upon worthy recipients from around the Hauraki last week, thanking them for their contributions to the community.
Hauraki District Council’s annual OnYa awards night was held in Paeroa on November 8.
Previously named the Citizen and Young Achiever Awards, the evening consists of acknowledging and celebrating the achievements and positive differences people have made within their communities.
The award categories consist of: caring about your community – an individual award for service to the community; working together to make a difference – a community group award for service to the community; knocking it out of the park – an award for service or achievement in sport or recreation; and enhancing and enriching our lives – an award for service or achievement in arts or culture.
Council’s awards working party also decides on the recipient of the OnYa Tu Meke award, for going above and beyond, chosen from the successful nominees in the four categories.
Deputy mayor Paul Milner presented the awards and said they were an opportunity to say “good on you, and job well done”.
“It’s a wonderful occasion to be able to say thank you to these people who have done a really great job, not just over the last 12 months, but over the last few decades in some cases.”
Recipients were: Michael Read, Julie-Ada Tana, Naelene Donaldson, Sheryl Krissansen, Luke van Vliet, Sam Morrison, Grier Buchanan, Jamie-Lee Owen, Meg Thomas, Ian Bradshaw, and Josephine Jebb, as well as Thomas Kereoma, Taylor-James Adamson, Everitt Remnant, Sam Remnant, Luke Johnstone, Max Wicks, Bailey Soppet-Main, and Hemi Smith (group).