You are currently viewing Club rugby is all go
Photo: Monica Volpin

Club rugby is all go

The Thames Valley Rugby Football Union is excited to announce the senior A and senior B Club Rugby draw for 2020 starting on Saturday June 20. 

After a long-awaited return to Rugby due to Covid-19, the 2020 competition will be slightly different, featuring a one round competition and a local derby match leading into the finals. This will give clubs an even four home and four away game split which we think is important, giving them the opportunity to rebuild and gain extra support from the community in unprecedented circumstances.

The Senior A draw this year will unfortunately not include Coromandel RFC, bringing the number of teams down to eight. The top qualifier after the eight round-robin matches will win the Silcock Shield, with the top 4 then going on to play for the McClinchy Cup. The Bottom four will contest for Patrons Cup.

The Senior B draw will feature a strong 7-team competition, including Tairua who were semi-finalists in the senior A competition last year. The top place qualifier after round-robin play will win the Elders Cup, with the top four going on to play for the McDonald Cup in a 3-week finals series.

TVRFU would like to thank in advance all the clubs involved for their outstanding effort and commitment to meet the government COVID-19 guidelines and New Zealand Rugby’s return to rugby requirements by implementing extensive health and safety plans throughout their clubs.

Contact tracing and strict hygiene guidelines will continue to take place throughout the competition with our goal to have clubs back in full swing and achieving revenue sustainability.

Grand finals day will be held on Saturday August 22,at the Thames Rugby & Sports Club, Rhodes Park, Thames – who will take home the McClinchy Cup this year? 

– Scott Daly


Saturday 20th June: Cobras v Waihou @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Waihi Athletic v Whangamata @ Waihi 2.00PM; Hauraki North v Paeroa @ Waitakaruru 2.00PM; Thames v Mercury Bay @ Thames 2.00PM. 

Saturday 27th June: Whangamata v Cobras @ Whangamata 2.00PM; Paeroa v Waihou @ Paeroa 2.00PM; Mercury Bay v Waihi Athletic @ Whitianga 2.00PM; Thames v Hauraki North @ Thames 2.00PM.

Saturday 4th July: Cobras v Paeroa @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Whangamata v Mercury Bay @ Whangamata 2.00PM; Waihi Athletic v Hauraki North @ Waihi 2.00PM; Waihou v Thames @ Te Aroha 2.00PM

Saturday 11th July: Mercury Bay v Cobras @ Whitianga 2.00PM; Thames v Paeroa @ Thames 2.00PM; Hauraki North v Whangamata @ Waitakaruru 2.00PM; Waihi Athletic v Waihou @ Waihi 2.00PM

Saturday 18th July: Cobras v Thames @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Mercury Bay v Hauraki North @ Whitianga 2.00PM; Paeroa v Waihi Athletic @ Paeroa 2.00PM; Waihou v Whangmata @ Waihou 2.00PM

Saturday 25th July: Hauraki North v Cobras @ Waitakaruru 2.00PM; Waihi Athletic v Thames @ Waihi 2.00PM; Waihou v Mercury Bay @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Whangamata v Paeroa @ Whangamata 2.00PM

Saturday 1st August: Cobras v Waihi Athletic @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Hauraki North v Waihou @ Waitakaruru 2.00PM; Thames v Whangamata @ Thames 2.00PM; Paeroa v Mercury Bay @ Paeroa 2.00PM

Saturday 8th August: Waihou v Cobras @ Te Aroha 2.00PM; Whangamata v Waihi Athletic @ Whangamata 2.00PM; Paeroa v Hauraki North @ Paeroa 2.00PM; Mercury Bay v Thames @ Whitianga 2.00PM

Saturday 15th August – Semi Finals – 1 v 4, 2 v 3, 5 v 8, 6 v 7

Saturday 22nd August – FINALS – McCLINCHY CUP

Winner of 1 v 4 plays Winner of 2 v 3


Winner of 5 v 8 plays Winner of 6 v 7

PLEASE NOTE: Start times are subject to change in accordance with NZR COVID guidelines